- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Jason Terry: ‘My gut tells me to keep shooting’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On February 10, 2013 @ 10:43 pm In General | 1 Comment

Jason Terry [1] hit the go-ahead three-pointer with 1:33 remaining in triple overtime to leave the Celtics [2] to a 118-114 win over the Denver Nuggets [3] Sunday night at TD Garden. The Celtics won their seventh straight with a thrilling victory while ending Denver’s nine game winning streak.

After missing six straight threes, Terry wasn’t about to turn down another chance at coming through for his team. He took a pass from Paul Pierce [4] and hit a triple with 1:33 left in triple-overtime to give the Celtics a lead they would not relinquish.

‘€œWell shooters shoot, and the looks they were giving me were great ones,” Terry said. “I’ve got to admit, JaVale McGee is a huge target to shoot over, so a lot of those shots were over him and they were short but my instinct, my gut tells me to keep shooting. Paul Pierce did a hell of a job drawing defenders all night long and I just knew if I got a clean, clean look uncontested, I was going to knock it down.’€

Pierce said after the game that Terry promised he would make his next 3-point attempt.

“No question. I told him and whoever else wanted to listen ‘€“ that’€™s just my motto, that’€™s how I’€™ve been,” Terry said. “In a game like that it’€™s just so mentally draining ‘€“ you have to stay into it. Defensively we continued to get stops but not only was Paul Pierce’€™s shot tremendous but I thought Kevin Garnett [5] I mean, the man’€™s 50-years old. For him to make those shots that he made when we direly needed them was tremendous for us.’€

As for his steal at the end of the third overtime on Andre Miller [6], a play Pierce called the “biggest” of the game, Terry said right place, right time.

‘€œThat was just individual defense,” Terry said. “Mano-a-mano. I know Andre, we came in at the same time together. Many battles. He wants to get right, he got right. I cut him off, he exposed the ball, I got the strip, and I was able to knock it out.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/02/10/jason-terry-my-gut-tells-me-to-keep-shooting/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Denver Nuggets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/denver-nuggets.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Andre Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-miller.htm

[7] > Jason Terry: ‘My gut tells me to keep shooting’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/02/10/jason-terry-my-gut-tells-me-to-keep-shooting/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.