- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Celtics sign ‘freakish’ Terrence Williams

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On February 18, 2013 @ 12:14 pm In General | 19 Comments

The Celtics [1] and former Louisville [2] star Terrence Williams, the No. 11 overall pick in the 2009 NBA draft, agreed to what’s believed to be a 10-day contract, according to The Boston Globe’s Gary Washburn.

The 6-foot-6, 220-pound wing averaged 17.9 points (47.9 FG%, 42.3 3P%, 71.7 FT%), 4.1 assists, 3.4 rebounds and 1.2 steals in just 27.0 minutes a night over 29 games in the Chinese Basketball Association for the first-place Guangdong Southern Tigers prior to being unceremoniously replaced [5] by Donald Sloan on Friday two games before the CBA playoffs. Williams averaged 7.6 points (40.4 FG%, 31.5 3P%, 68.2 FT%), 3.9 rebounds and 2.5 assists in 129 games over three seasons for the Nets [6], Rockets and Kings.

Once dubbed “a freakish athlete [7]” by Louisville coach Rick Pitino [8], Williams played his prep career in Seattle, where Celtics guards Avery Bradley [9] and Jason Terry [10] have strong ties. T-Will chronicled his basketball journey in a web series titled “Poor Hungry Driven [11].”

The Celtics begin a five-game West Coast road trip on Tuesday against the Nuggets. They had just 10 healthy players on the roster after season-ending injuries to Rajon Rondo [12], Jared Sullinger and Leandro Barbosa [13]. Williams is expected to join the team in Denver, according to Washburn.

Celtics coach Doc Rivers [14] hinted at such a deal over the past week. He and team president Danny Ainge agreed last week that they would rather sign the best available player than somebody who fills a need at a certain position (i.e., a point guard or a big), and Williams fits that bill. Likewise, Rivers said on Friday the C’s were looking at possibilities in the Chinese Basketball Association, and later that day Williams became available. Coincidence?


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/02/18/report-celtics-deal-for-terrence-williams-nearly-done/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Louisville: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/louisville-cardinals.htm

[3] #celtics: https://twitter.com/search/%23celtics

[4] February 18, 2013: https://twitter.com/GwashNBAGlobe/status/303564771641401344

[5] being unceremoniously replaced: http://www.niubball.com/2013/02/eyeing-championship-run-guangdong-replaces-terrence-williams-with-donald-sloan/

[6] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[7] a freakish athlete: http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/sports/college/mensbasketball/2007-10-25-sw-louisville-williams_N.htm

[8] Rick Pitino: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-rick-pitino.htm

[9] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[10] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[11] Poor Hungry Driven: https://www.youtube.com/user/terrencewilliamstv

[12] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[13] Leandro Barbosa: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leandro-barbosa.htm

[14] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[15] > Report: Celtics sign ‘freakish’ Terrence Williams" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/02/18/report-celtics-deal-for-terrence-williams-nearly-done/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.