- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Trade rumor: Celtics take Rajon Rondo off market

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On February 20, 2013 @ 12:32 pm In General | 77 Comments

Despite ESPN.com senior writer Chris Broussard‘s insistence that Celtics [1] president Danny Ainge has made injured point guard Rajon Rondo [2] available on the trade market, Rondo’s agent Bill Duffy told USA Today’s Sam Amick that Ainge “assured him” on Wednesday that the four-time All-Star will not be dealt.

Meanwhile, CBSSports.com columnist Ken Berger reports Rondo would only be dealt for Dwight Howard [3], Chris Paul [4] “or a massive haul of assets” similar to what the Nuggets received for Carmelo Anthony. As you might remember, Melo, Chauncey Billups [5] and three low-level NBA talents returned Wilson Chandler [6], Raymond Felton [7], Danilo Gallinari, Timofey Mozgov, a first-round draft pick, two second-round picks and $3 million in cash from the Knicks in 2011.

Those scenarios are a pipe dream for Ainge, considering Rondo’s season-ending ACL surgery that leaves him rehabbing for training camp next season.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/02/20/trade-rumor-celtics-take-rajon-rondo-off-market/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[4] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[5] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[6] Wilson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/wilson-chandler.htm

[7] Raymond Felton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/raymond-felton.htm

[8] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[9] February 20, 2013: https://twitter.com/Chris_Broussard/status/304245372925128705

[10] February 20, 2013: https://twitter.com/sam_amick/status/304275647566606336

[11] February 20, 2013: https://twitter.com/KBergCBS/status/304278690144067584

[12] > Trade rumor: Celtics take Rajon Rondo off market" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/02/20/trade-rumor-celtics-take-rajon-rondo-off-market/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.