- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

No show: Doc Rivers gives Paul Pierce night off as C’s don’t show against Bobcats

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 12, 2013 @ 9:22 pm In General | 27 Comments

Gerald Henderson [1] scored a career-high 35 points and Josh McRoberts dominated with 13 points and 10 rebounds as the lowly Charlotte Bobcats [2] ended a 10-game losing streak with a 100-74 laugher over the Celtics [3] Monday night at the Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte.

Playing without captain Paul Pierce [4], given the night off by coach Doc Rivers [5], the Celtics came out and played one of their most uninspired games of the season. Jeff Green [6] got the start for Pierce and led the Celtics with 14 points. Kevin Garnett [7] had another ice-cold game, finishing just 2-for-10 from the field and finishing with five points. Garnett, who is 8-for-29 in losses to the Thunder and Bobcats, will head into Wednesday’s game needing just five points to pass Jerry West [8] for 15th place on the NBA all-time scoring list.

Similar to Garnett on Feb. 22 in Phoenix, Pierce – the team’s leading scorer – was given the night off after playing in Boston’s previous 62 games. Pierce, who has been battling a nerve problem in his neck, has also been averaging over six assists a game in the absence of Rajon Rondo [9].

Nowhere was the lack of effort more obvious than on the glass, where the Celtics were outrebounded by the Bobcats, 48-29.

The Bobcats (14-50) entered the game with a 10-game losing streak, including seven straight by an average score of 14 points. They also ended the Celtics’ seven-game win streak on Feb. 11, making Boston one of just four teams to lose to the Bobcats twice this season. The Celtics will have their chance at revenge on Saturday night when they host Charlotte at TD Garden.

Henderson scored at will in the first half, as the son of the former Celtics guard scored 21 points and the Bobcats built a 49-46 lead. Henderson hit a jumper at the halftime buzzer to give Charlotte the three-point advantage.

The Celtics came out sluggishly in the third quarter and allowed Charlotte to open the second half on a 12-3 run. Garnett continued to be ice cold from the field, carrying over his performance from Sunday when he was 6-for-19 against the Thunder in Oklahoma City.

Down 20, 83-63, Rivers pulled the plug on Garnett with 10 minutes left. Shav Randolph and DJ White saw their first action in a Celtics uniform. The Celtics had a season-worst 27 field goals and scored just 28 points in the second half. Boston (34-29) was embarrassed 51-28 in the second half in losing their second straight game.

The Celtics return home to take on the Raptors on Wednesday night at TD Garden. For more, visit the Celtics team page at weei.com/celtics [10].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/12/no-show-doc-rivers-gives-paul-pierce-night-off-as-cs-dont-show-against-bobcats/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gerald Henderson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-henderson.htm

[2] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Jerry West: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jerry-west.htm

[9] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[10] weei.com/celtics: http://www.weei.com/celtics

[11] > No show: Doc Rivers gives Paul Pierce night off as C’s don’t show against Bobcats" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/12/no-show-doc-rivers-gives-paul-pierce-night-off-as-cs-dont-show-against-bobcats/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.