- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Garnett out with left adductor strain

Posted By Mike Petraglia On March 16, 2013 @ 7:05 pm In General | 1 Comment

Celtics [1] head coach Doc Rivers [2] ruled out Kevin Garnett [3] for Saturday night’s game against the Bobcats with a lower left adductor strain.

“He wasn’t moving well in practice [Friday],” Rivers said in announcing his absence from the lineup Saturday night. Rivers did not immediately announce the nature of the injury, deferring to head trainer Ed Lacerte.

Lacerte and the Celtics later officially announced the diagnosis of adductor (groin) strain in his left leg.

Rivers said he did not know Garnett’s availability for Monday’s marquee matchup with LeBron James [4] and the Miami Heat [5] at TD Garden.

Jeff Green [6], as he did for Paul Pierce [7] on Tuesday in Charlotte, takes Garnett’s place in the lineup. The Celtics will go very small in the lineup, with Brandon Bass [8] representing their biggest player among the starting five.

Pierce, Avery Bradley [9] and Courtney Lee [10] also start for the Celtics, who were blown out by the Bobcats, 100-74, on Tuesday in Charlotte.

For more, visit the Celtics team page at weei.com/celtics [11].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/16/kevin-garnett-out-with-left-adductor-strain/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[5] Miami Heat: http://media.weei.com/basketball/miami-heat.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[9] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[10] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[11] weei.com/celtics: http://www.weei.com/celtics

[12] > Kevin Garnett out with left adductor strain" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/16/kevin-garnett-out-with-left-adductor-strain/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.