- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Dwyane Wade: ‘There’s some dislike’ among Heat, Celtics

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On March 19, 2013 @ 1:00 pm In General | 11 Comments

The celebration in the Heat locker room could be heard from the hallway after Miami’s 105-103 win over the Celtics [1] on Monday night, which seemed strange — considering the absences of Rajon Rondo [2] and Kevin Garnett [3] — until Dwyane Wade [4] reminded everyone his team doesn’t like Boston all that much.

“It’€™s a Celtics-Heat game,” said Wade, who scored 16 points in 36 minutes, mostly against Avery Bradley [5] and Courtney Lee [6]. “It’€™s always like that, man. Whether it’€™s the first game of the year or the last game of the year, it’€™s always like that. No matter who’€™s on the court, no matter who’€™s playing, it’€™s going to be a battle, and here they’€™ve beat us in those games. Tonight, we were able to pull it out, and it just shows the growth of our team.

“We know we’re getting the best from Boston every time we play them,” he added. “There’€™s a dislike there. It’€™s a different focus, especially here in this building.”

Conversely, the Garden crowd apparently focused its ire on former Celtics star turned Heat role player Ray Allen [7].

“Nobody pulled punches for me today,” said Allen, who scored six points in 30 minutes. “I heard some pretty brutal things in the building today, and people really let me know how they felt. I don’€™t go into it with any expectation, but I’€™m on the other team, so they’€™re going to say whatever they can and whatever they think they need to say.”

Maybe that’s why Allen pretended Celtics-Heat isn’t a rivalry in the aftermath of yet another memorable meeting.

“When I played here, our rivals were the Lakers, Pistons and New York,” said Allen. “That’€™s deep-seeded. It comes from a lot of basketball, and we’€™ll see how the years go to determine if that’€™s the case.”

OK, then. So, I guess those 20 games and 980 minutes of basketball between the two teams over the past three seasons have just been all in good fun. I don’t remember Rondo laughing when Wade dislocated his elbow [8], when Paul Pierce head-butted James Jones [9], when LeBron James laughed in Garnett’s face [10] or when KG ignored Allen’s return [11] to Boston. It’s kind of a touchy subject, especially if you ask LeBron.

‘€œWhy does it always have to be, ‘€˜They gave us a war’€™?” said James. “There’€™s never us giving anybody else a war, huh? That’€™s how y’€™all like it? That’€™s all that matters is the win. That’€™s all that matters.’€

For more on the rivalry — and that’s exactly what it is — read this column: “James, Heat don’t scare Celtics [12].”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/19/dwyane-wade-theres-some-dislike-among-heat-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[5] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[6] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] Wade dislocated his elbow: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=he4OY6gJNX4

[9] Paul Pierce head-butted James Jones: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m_psflvTTZk

[10] LeBron James laughed in Garnett’s face: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WQWB1yN7zqc

[11] KG ignored Allen’s return: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5GlmR0jTf9w

[12] James, Heat don’t scare Celtics: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/ben-rohrbach/2013/03/19/lebron-games-heat-dont-scare-celtics

[13] > Dwyane Wade: ‘There’s some dislike’ among Heat, Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/19/dwyane-wade-theres-some-dislike-among-heat-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.