- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Green Day: Layup at the buzzer gives Celtics win in Cleveland

Posted By WEEI On March 27, 2013 @ 10:19 pm In General | 7 Comments

Jeff Green [1] capped a furious 21-6 run over the final eight minutes with a layup at the buzzer to allow the Celtics [2] to sneak out of Cleveland with a 93-92 victory over the Cavaliers [3]. Green split the Cavs defense and hit a layup as the buzzer sounded to permit the Celtics to snap a five-game losing streak.

Green, despite shooting 7-of-18, scored 21 points with seven rebounds and five assists. Paul Pierce [4] added a well-rounded 19 points, 10 rebounds and eight assists, though he committed seven turnovers. Brandon Bass [5], in the lineup with both Kevin Garnett [6] and Courtney Lee [7] still sidelined, poured in 22 points on 8-of-14 shooting with five rebounds.

The Cavs had six players in double figures, but none with more than 16. Cleveland had just one bucket after taking an 88-78 lead at the 5:49 mark of the fourth quarter.

For the full recap of the game, click here [8]. For more Celtics coverage, visit weei.com/celtics [9].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/27/green-day-layup-at-the-buzzer-gives-celtics-win-in-cleveland/

URLs in this post:

[1] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[8] click here: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2013032705&home=5&vis=2&final=true

[9] weei.com/celtics: http://www.weei.com/celtics

[10] > Green Day: Layup at the buzzer gives Celtics win in Cleveland" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/03/27/green-day-layup-at-the-buzzer-gives-celtics-win-in-cleveland/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.