- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Inside job: Nikola Pekovic, Dante Cunningham dominate as T’Wolves finally beat Celtics

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 1, 2013 @ 10:21 pm In General | 13 Comments

Another road game. Another undermanned Celtics [1] team. And another road loss.

The Celtics, playing without Paul Pierce [2] and Kevin Garnett [3], were overpowered by Nikola Pekovic, Dante Cunningham and the Minnesota Timberwolves [4] in a 110-100 loss at the Target Center Monday night. Pekovic took advantage of an undersized front court with a game-high 29 points while Cunningham added 19 points and five rebounds off the bench for Minnesota, which beat Boston for the first time in 12 meeting dating back to the pre-Garnett era in Boston.

The defenseless Celtics (38-36) fell for the second straight night and dropped their seventh in nine games. With Milwaukee beating Charlotte, the seventh-place Celtics are just 1.5 games ahead of the Bucks (one game in loss column) for eight-place. If Boston, which has eight games left, finishes eighth, they will face Miami in the first round.

What Monday’s game lacked in star power it made up for in offense from unexpected places.

The Celtics were without Garnett (left foot) and Pierce (personal reasons) while the Timberwolves were still without U.S. Olympic champion Kevin Love [5] (broken hand).

The Timberwolves (27-46) turned to Pekovic and he responded with a huge opening quarter. The 27-year-old native of Montenegro scored 15 points as Minnesota dominated the paint and took a 27-25 lead after 12 minutes.

Since acquiring Garnett – the most accomplished player in Timberwolves history – after the 2006-07 season, the Celtics were 10-0 against Minnesota. Overall, the Celtics had won 11 straight against Minnesota dating back to Boston’s last loss, 109-107, on Feb. 11, 2007 in Minnesota.

Adding to Boston’s misery on the inside, big men Shav Randolph and Chris Wilcox [6] each picked up three personal fouls. Courtney Lee’s three with 3:15 left in the second quarter tied the game, 45-45. But the Timberwolves came back with the next four points before Avery Bradley [7] connected on a jumper as the game kept a quick tempo leading up to halftime. Bradley’s hit 6-of-8 in the first half and single-handedly kept Boston within range with 15 first half points. Bradley led the Celtics with 19 points on 8-of-14 shooting.

Boston was manhandled in the paint in the first half. Pekovic scored 21 points in the first half, part of an effort that had Minnesota outscoring getting outscored 34-18 and allowing Minnesota to grab a 57-52 halftime lead.

The Timberwolves went on a 10-4 run midway thought the third to open their biggest lead, 80-66, before Jason Terry [8] responded with a long two-point jumper. Terrence Williams followed that up with a baseline three to cut Minnesota’s lead down to nine, 80-71, with just over three minutes left in the third.

Randolph picked up his fifth foul seconds later but stayed in the game to give the Celtics some size in the paint. As the Celtics were making a run late in the third quarter, Jeff Green [9] came up limping, holding his left hip. Green, who played the entire first half and the first six minutes of the third quarter before finally coming out for a breather, took a knee from Pekovic to the left thigh/hip area. Green stayed in the game and was part of a 12-4 run that cut Minnesota’s lead to six, 84-78, heading into the fourth. Green finished with just 10 points in 38 minutes.

With the Celtics defense forcing a near turnover, Derrick Williams [10] hit a three to open the fourth quarter and push Minnesota’s lead back to nine.

Lee came in for Green with just over 10 minutes left as Celtics trainer Ed Lacerte tended to Green’s left hip. The T-Wolves went on a 7-0 run midway through the fourth that was capped by an Alexey Shved three with 7:45 left to put Minnesota up, 96-82. The Celtics could get no closer than eight the rest of the way.

The Celtics are off Tuesday before hosting the Pistons on Wednesday night at TD Garden. For more, visit the Celtics team page at weei.com/celtics [11].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/01/inside-job-nikola-pekovic-dante-cunningham-dominate-as-twolves-finally-beat-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[5] Kevin Love: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-love.htm

[6] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[7] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[8] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[9] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[10] Derrick Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-williams.htm

[11] weei.com/celtics: http://www.weei.com/celtics

[12] > Inside job: Nikola Pekovic, Dante Cunningham dominate as T’Wolves finally beat Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/01/inside-job-nikola-pekovic-dante-cunningham-dominate-as-twolves-finally-beat-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.