- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Paul Pierce ‘game-time decision’ while Kevin Garnett misses shootaround

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 3, 2013 @ 2:11 pm In General | 1 Comment

It could be another night without Paul Pierce [1] and Kevin Garnett [2].

Pierce, who missed just his second game of the season on Monday night due to personal reasons, is officially listed by the team as a “game-time decision” for tonight’s game against the Pistons. Pierce was spotted with an ice wrap on his right foot in the fourth quarter of Sunday’s game in New York but the team said at the time it was simply maintenance and not a serious injury.

Garnett, who has missed the last six games with inflammation in his left foot, was not at Wednesday morning’s shootaround. Boston is just 2-4 in those six games.

Without the two stars, the Celtics [3] (38-36) fell to the Timberwolves [4] on Monday night in Minnesota. As a group, Celtics starters have struggled badly in their last two games. In a loss to the Knicks Sunday night, Brandon Bass [5], Avery Bradey and Chris Wilcox [6] each scored two points. On Monday, Bradley led the way with 19 points but as a unit, the starters scored just 46 points in the 110-100 loss to the Wolves.

Tonight, the Celtics host the Detroit Pistons [7] (25-50) at the Garden (7:30 p.m. tipoff). Despite their woeful record, the Pistons have beaten the Celtics in both previous meetings, scoring 103 points each time while shooting 50 percent from the field in each game. Detroit beat the Celtics 103-88 on Jan. 20 and 103-83 on Nov. 18.

Pierce leads Boston this season, scoring 18.8 points per game and has been the top assist man since Rajon Rondo [8] went down on Jan. 25.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/03/paul-pierce-game-time-decision-while-kevin-garnett-misses-shootaround/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[5] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[6] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[7] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[8] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[9] > Paul Pierce ‘game-time decision’ while Kevin Garnett misses shootaround" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/03/paul-pierce-game-time-decision-while-kevin-garnett-misses-shootaround/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.