- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc Rivers: ‘Of course’ Celtics want to avoid Heat in playoffs.. ‘I’m not that dumb’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 6, 2013 @ 1:39 am In General | 5 Comments

Not that there was much of a doubt to begin with but Doc Rivers [1] made it very clear after Friday’s 97-91 loss to the Cavaliers (which snapped Cleveland’s 10-game losing streak) that he wants no part of LeBron James [2], Dwyane Wade [3], Chris Bosh and the Miami Heat [4] in the first round of the playoffs.

Thanks to the Bucks loss in New York to the Knicks Friday night, the Celtics [5] (39-37) are two games up in the loss column on Milwaukee for seventh place in the Eastern Conference with just six games left.

Does he pay attention to the standings?

“I do but I don’t,” Rivers said in his best hedging language. “I really don’t. I know we’re in the seventh spot. I know we want to stay out of the eighth spot.

So, Rivers is actually admitting he wants avoid the Heat?

“Of course we would,” Rivers admitted when asked that very question. “But if we play them, we’ll be ready. But of course we would. Listen, I’m not that dumb. I’m not the brightest guy but come on. Really, you would love to avoid anyone [like Miami]. Listen, no matter who we play, we’re going to play a tough team. It’s going to be New York, Indiana or Miami. There’s no cakewalk for us. It’s going to be hard.”

To Rivers point, the Celtics are 1-3 this year against New York, 1-2 against Miami and 2-0 against Indiana. The Celtics play the Heat next weekend in Miami and the Pacers at the Garden on April 16.

Rivers was asked if he’s going out of his way to avoid playing his stars Paul Pierce [6] and Kevin Garnett [7] to get them as physically ready for the playoffs as possible. But Rivers said trainer Ed Lacerte took that decision out of his hands just before Friday’s game.

“No, I wanted Paul to play [against Cleveland] but he couldn’t, honestly,” Rivers said. “I would’ve played him if he could have. But right [before game] when Eddie said Paul’s [ankle] was swollen, that was an easy decision.”

Celtics coach Doc Rivers admitted after Friday night’s 97-91 loss to the Cleveland Cavaliers [8] at TD Garden that he is watching the standings and wants to avoid finishing eighth in the Eastern conference and a first round match up with the defending world champion Miami Heat. Rivers however stressed that whoever the Celtics face if it’s the Indiana Pacers [9] or New York Knicks [10], it will be a tough matchup.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/06/doc-rivers-of-course-celtics-want-to-avoid-heat-in-playoffs-im-not-that-dumb/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[3] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[4] Miami Heat: http://media.weei.com/basketball/miami-heat.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[9] Indiana Pacers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/indiana-pacers.htm

[10] New York Knicks: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-york-knicks.htm

[11] > Doc Rivers: ‘Of course’ Celtics want to avoid Heat in playoffs.. ‘I’m not that dumb’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/06/doc-rivers-of-course-celtics-want-to-avoid-heat-in-playoffs-im-not-that-dumb/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.