- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Sunday notes: Celtics need a way to feed Kevin Garnett, get more out of Jason Terry, bench

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 21, 2013 @ 2:08 pm In General | 1 Comment

NEW YORK — The Celtics [1] didn’t practice Sunday. Instead, they hunkered down in a suite inside the Four Seasons Hotel in midtown Manhattan to go over the ugly details of their 85-78 loss to the Knicks in Game 1 Saturday afternoon.

Specifically, what happened in the final 13 minutes, 40 seconds when they scored exactly eight points.

Part of the issue, admitted coach Doc Rivers [2], was not efficiently feeding Kevin Garnett [3], and forcing it to him when he wasn’t open, leading to the avalanche of turnovers that led to their demise.

‘€œI thought, from an offensive standpoint, I didn’€™t have a lot of different opportunities,” Garnett said. “Obviously, I had shots and stuff. Some went down, some didn’€™t. But I try not to let that predicate things or my level of play. I thought I moved the ball very well, got other guys open, was able to rebound obviously, trying to be as much of a force as I can on defense. In Game 2, I’€™d like to be a little more aggressive, obviously, but being consistent with the overall game.’€

For the first time in his career, Jason Terry [4] was held scoreless in a playoff game. But Terry was far from alone on an unproductive Boston bench. To Rivers, it was a case of something he likes to call “hero-ball” – where the ball stagnates and teammates watch as one player tries to generate something all by himself.

‘€œWe didn’€™t do a good job with Terry [Saturday], especially in the second half, there were so many [isolations] that Jason has nothing to do with,” Rivers said. “In the first half, Jason didn’€™t score, but we ran that play with the pick-and-roll with him and Paul. We scored five times in a row because of Jason Terry’€™s involvement, so I don’€™t actually look at if he scored. I look at the points he created, and in the first half he created 12 points. In the second half, it was all ISOs. I mean, it’€™s not us. We’€™re not built that way.’€

Courtney Lee [5] provided the only four points (all on free throws) as Boston’s reserves were outscored by New York’s bench, 33-4. Boston didn’t get a single field goal from their bench in the entire game.

‘€œI’€™m looking for a better overall effort, whether it’€™s the bench, whether it’€™s the starters,’€ Paul Pierce [6] said. ‘€œThe starters, you look, me and Jeff [Green [7]] had 12 turnovers ‘€“ just us two. We have to be better, regardless of our bench. Overall as a team, we have to be better.’€

Rivers acknowledged that he might look to shake up a bench rotation was limited solely to Terry, Jordan Crawford and Lee. Rivers said he would consider adding a big man to the rotation, either Shav Randolph or Chris Wilcox [8]. Crawford played just 10 minutes, 46 seconds, including just over three minutes in the second half.

“I thought Jordan should have played more in the second half,” Rivers said. “It’€™s funny, he didn’€™t score, but he created baskets. And, I’€™ll tell you, he’€™s buying in defensively and if he can continue to do that, then he has a chance to help us.”

Speaking of the Four Seasons Hotel, that’s also where Rivers’ old friend Tom Thibodeau [9] and Chicago Bulls [10] are spending their weekend in the Big Apple. Their Saturday was even worse in Brooklyn as they were down by 25 at halftime and lost Game 1 at Barclays Center. They will play Game 2 Monday night in Brooklyn.

‘€œIt’€™s not a good hotel today,’€ Rivers said in dark humor. ‘€œTwo losing teams, I think one should leave. This was a quiet, dark hotel last night. The New York area teams didn’€™t treat the guests very well.”

While Rivers expects the Celtics to execute better in Game 2 Tuesday night, he expects the same of the Knicks, who shot just 40.5 percent and had two starters (Tyson Chandler [11] and Chris Copeland) who went scoreless. J.R. Smith, who torched the Celtics for 32 in late March at TD Garden, made just 7-of-19 shots and finished with 15.

‘€œThey’€™re going to play better, too,’€ Rivers said. ‘€œJ.R. Smith missed a couple open 3s. [Steve] Novak didn’€™t get involved. So we have to anticipate them playing way better, and then we have to play way better. And that’€™s what, in the playoffs, you just have to anticipate that.’€

The Celtics didn’t practice Sunday but will on Monday at Madison Square Garden in advance of Game 2.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/21/sunday-notes-celtics-need-a-way-to-feed-garnett-get-more-out-of-jason-terry-bench/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[5] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Jeff [Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[8] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[9] Tom Thibodeau: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tom-thibodeau.htm

[10] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[11] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[12] > Sunday notes: Celtics need a way to feed Kevin Garnett, get more out of Jason Terry, bench" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/21/sunday-notes-celtics-need-a-way-to-feed-garnett-get-more-out-of-jason-terry-bench/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.