- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Jason Terry saves Celtics season

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On April 28, 2013 @ 4:12 pm In General | No Comments

The Knicks erased a 20-point second-half deficit and took their first lead of the game with 78 seconds remaining on a Raymond Felton [1] jumper. It took a 17-footer from Kevin Garnett [2] and two Carmelo Anthony misses just to force overtime. But Jason Terry [3] finally came up clutch, scoring the C’s final nine points for a 97-90 OT victory.

Meanwhile, Paul Pierce [4] played 50 minutes, totaling 29 points, eight rebounds and six assists to help avoid a sweep and force a Game 5 on Wednesday night at Madison Square Garden. Pierce, Garnett (13 points, 17 rebounds), Terry (18 points) and Jeff Green [5] (26 points) combined for 86 of the C’s 97 points.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

Melo out: Without J.R. Smith to share the load, Carmelo Anthony (36 points) tried to put the Knicks on his back, but Brandon Bass [6] had other ideas. Bass gave Anthony fits, even jawing with the MVP candidate, holding him to 10-of-35 shooting and forcing him into seven turnovers. The rest of the Knicks didn’t help, shooting 34 percent from the field, but it started with a valiant effort from Bass, who fouled out in the fourth quarter.

Closing out: While the Knicks looked to close out the series, the C’s just hoped to close out a quarter. And for once they did. In the second, they finished the final two minutes on a 12-3 run. Pierce, who looked cooked in Game 3, scored eight of his 17 first-half points in 72 seconds, and then assisted on Jason Terry’s 16-foot jumper that beat the clock. The result? A 54-35 advantage that helped punch their plane ticket back to New York.

Green with emotion: Green’s recipe for success is simple: attack, attack, attack. The guy who stands around the perimeter watching his teammates take jump shots isn’t so good. In the span of 44 seconds of the second quarter, Green stampeded his way to the basket for a running five-footer and got to the line twice more on drives to the hole. In other words, he attacked, attacked, attacked, and the result was 26 points and six boards.

WHAT WENT WRONG

First mistake: The Celtics [7] shot 50 percent from the field in the first quarter while holding the Knicks to 6-of-18 shooting and forcing six New York turnovers. And thanks to an off-balance Anthony and-1 to close out the first quarter, the C’s only led 22-17. That five-point lead should’ve been 15. Allowing the Knicks to stick around was a dangerous game, even if the Celtics ended up taking a 19-point lead into halftime.

Handle without care: Turnovers cost the Celtics Games 1 and 3. Their offense practically must execute to perfection to compete with New York’s potent attack, and coughing up opportunities before they even get off a shot compounds the problem. Yet, the Celtics committed 16 turnovers on Sunday. Dumb ones, too, like Avery Bradley [8] throwing a pass to someone in the fourth row and Pierce’s failed feeding of Bass on a fast break.

Foul mood: Midway through the second quarter, Garnett picked up his third foul from an officiating crew that featured C’s coach Doc Rivers [9]‘ nemesis Bill Kennedy. Minutes later, Green picked up his third, and Bass joined the club two seconds before halftime. Within five minutes of the third quarter, all three had four fouls. Of course, Anthony and Tyson Chandler [10] had four before the fourth quarter, too. But with little faith in Chris Wilcox [11] or Shavlik Randolph off the bench, Rivers pulled Garnett but left Green and Bass to defend the paint. Bass soon picked up his fifth, and the Knicks closed within three on an 11-1 run to end the third, setting up a nail-biting fourth quarter and overtime.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/28/fast-break-jason-terry-saves-celtics-season/

URLs in this post:

[1] Raymond Felton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/raymond-felton.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[7] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[8] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[9] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[10] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[11] Chris Wilcox: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-wilcox.htm

[12] > Fast Break: Jason Terry saves Celtics season" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/04/28/fast-break-jason-terry-saves-celtics-season/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.