- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Celtics, Nets blockbuster involving Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce pending

Posted By Jerry Spar On June 27, 2013 @ 1:20 pm In General | 47 Comments

The Celtics [1] and Nets have agreed to a deal that will send Kevin Garnett [2] and Paul Pierce [3] to Brooklyn, pending Garnett waiving his no-trade clause, according to Yahoo! Sports columnist Adrian Wojnarowski [4].

While both sides are pressing to finalize the trade, Garnett “doesn’t want to be pressured into a quick decision,” a source told Wojnarowski, and the NBA’s moratorium prevents any deal from becoming official until July 10.

Jason Terry [5] would reportedly join the two future Hall of Famers in going to Brooklyn.

Meanwhile, the Celtics would receive three first-round picks — in non-successive seasons from 2014-18 by rule, the report said, giving the C’s nine first-rounders over the next five seasons.

The Celtics would also assume the following salaries in order to make the deal work: Gerald Wallace [6] (3 years, $30.3 million), Kris Humphries (1 year, $12 million), Reggie Evans [7] (2 year, $3.5 million), Keith Bogans (sign-and-trade) and one more NBA minimum-wage player.

The Celtics also discussed potential Garnett and Pierce trades with the Warriors and Mavericks, according to Wojnarowski.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/06/27/report-celtics-nets-discuss-blockbuster-involving-kevin-garnett-paul-pierce/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] according to Yahoo! Sports columnist Adrian Wojnarowski: http://sports.yahoo.com/news/nba--nets-pursuing-trade-for-kevin-garnett--paul-pierce-171213145.html

[5] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[6] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[7] Reggie Evans: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-evans.htm

[8] > Report: Celtics, Nets blockbuster involving Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce pending" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/06/27/report-celtics-nets-discuss-blockbuster-involving-kevin-garnett-paul-pierce/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.