- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics announce Paul Pierce, Kevin Garnett trade

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On July 12, 2013 @ 3:03 pm In General | 31 Comments

The Celtics [1] officially announced the trade of superstars Paul Pierce [2] and Kevin Garnett [3] to the Nets [4].

The only surprise is forward D.J. White‘s inclusion in the deal that will send Pierce, Garnett and Jason Terry [5] to Brooklyn. White signed a $1.03 million non-guaranteed deal for 2013-14.

Meanwhile, Kris Humphries ($12 million) officially becomes the highest-paid Celtic, joining Gerald Wallace [6], Keith Bogans, MarShon Brooks and Kris Joseph in Boston. More importantly, the C’s acquired Brooklyn’s first-round draft picks in 2014, 2016 and 2018 as well as the option to swap No. 1 picks with the Nets in the 2017 draft.

‘€œWe would like to thank Paul, Kevin, and Jason for everything that they have done for this franchise,” Celtics president of basketball operations Danny Ainge said in a press release. “We would not have won Banner 17 without Paul and Kevin and they will go down amongst the all-time great players to have ever worn a Celtics uniform. At the same time we are excited to welcome Gerald, Kris, Keith, MarShon and Kris to the Celtics family. They bring a wealth of talent, experience, depth, and flexibility to our team.’€

Excited, huh?

‘€œWe are really excited to welcome Gerald, Kris, Keith, MarShon and Kris to the Celtics organization,’€ Celtics coach Brad Stevens [7] added in the release. ‘€œThey collectively bring a great deal of versatility, unique skill sets and production to our roster. I cannot wait to get to work with them.’€

Excited, I guess.

Believe it or not, the Nets were pretty excited themselves about landing Pierce, Garnett and Terry.

‘€œToday, the basketball gods smiled on the Nets,” Nets owner Mikhail Prokhorov said in a separate press release. “With the arrival of Kevin Garnett and Paul Pierce, we have achieved a great balance on our roster between veteran stars and young talents. This team will be dazzling to watch, and tough to compete against.”

‘€œWe are excited to welcome Kevin, Paul and Jason to Brooklyn’€ added Brooklyn GM Billy King. ‘€œAll three players have championship pedigree and posses the veteran qualities that will make us a stronger team.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/07/12/celtics-announce-paul-pierce-kevin-garnett-trade/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[5] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[6] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[7] Brad Stevens: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-brad-stevens.htm

[8] > Celtics announce Paul Pierce, Kevin Garnett trade" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/07/12/celtics-announce-paul-pierce-kevin-garnett-trade/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.