- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Paul Pierce eyes return to Boston — someday

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On September 23, 2013 @ 12:49 pm In General | 1 Comment

Paul Pierce [1] wants to return to Boston. Just not as a basketball player.

Maybe as a restaurant owner.

‘€œUltimately, what I would like to do is have a business in Boston,’€ the former Celtics captain told The Boston Globe [2]. ‘€œMaybe like a sports bar. I would love to do something like that here. None of the former Celtic great players have come and done that. I thought about it, and why hasn’€™t anyone come and opened up a nice restaurant? You see the Don Shula [3] restaurant, the Michael Jordan [4] restaurant, and Magic [Johnson] got the theaters in LA. Why nobody here? All this history, all these championships and love, why has nobody done that?

‘€œI am going to still have relationships here. I’€™m always going to come to this city. Every year, when I’€™m done, I’€™m going to have a reason to come here.’€

Or maybe as a front office executive.

‘€œWho knows? I may be working for Wyc Grousbeck or Danny Ainge,’€ he added. ‘€œA lot of players don’€™t understand it. I’€™ve always understood it. And [other players] let their pride and ego get in the way. I’€™ve made a lot of money here, I’€™ve built relationships, won a championship here, I thank y’€™all for everything y’€™all gave me. How can I be mad for everything they’€™ve given me. I’€™m thankful.’€

So, if it’s any consolation, Pierce still loves Boston.

Here’s hoping his restaurant will be more Ray Bourque [5]‘s Tresca [6] than David Ortiz [7]‘s Big Papi’s Grille [8]. Either way, Pierce better get the 2008 Celtics [9] together to recreate the Scotch ‘n Sirloin commercial from 1986.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/09/23/paul-pierce-eyes-return-to-boston-someday/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] the former Celtics captain told The Boston Globe: http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2013/09/21/nba-story-lines-training-camps-prepare-open/i8L87tUDP1AjpjeWw1J0II/story.html

[3] Don Shula: http://media.weei.com/football/don-shula.htm

[4] Michael Jordan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[5] Ray Bourque: http://media.weei.com/hockey/ray-bourque.htm

[6] Tresca: http://www.boston.com/dining/globe_review/1400/

[7] David Ortiz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[8] Big Papi’s Grille: http://www.boston.com/ae/food/restaurants/articles/2009/09/30/a_swing_and_a_miss_for_big_papis_grille/?page=1

[9] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[10] > Paul Pierce eyes return to Boston — someday" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/09/23/paul-pierce-eyes-return-to-boston-someday/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.