- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics at Nets: Paul Pierce in, Kevin Garnett out

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 15, 2013 @ 10:18 am In General | No Comments

Paul Pierce [1] is expected to play when his new team hosts his former team in the preseason on Tuesday night, but Kevin Garnett [2] won’t be in the Nets [3] lineup against the Celtics [4], and he’s none too pleased about it.

‘€œIt wasn’€™t my decision, so that’s where I’m going to leave that,” Garnett, who already voiced his displeasure in coach Jason Kidd [5]‘s plan to rest him on back-to-backs, told the New York media [6] after Monday’s win in Philadelphia. ‘€œI’€™m trying to be as positive as I can. It’€™s not up to me. I’€™m being positive and go with the plan that was laid out for me and being positive with that. So I’€™m trusting Jason and the plan he has for myself. … I just feel like every day you have a chance to better your craft and be part of the group, I’€™d like to be a part of that.’€

Pierce has already expressed to reporters that he will not be in the Brooklyn lineup when the Nets come to Boston for the final game of the Celtics preseason on Oct. 23. The same is expected to be true for Garnett.

Meanwhile, Jeff Green [7] pulled a KG “I don’t have Ray Allen‘s number anymore [8]” after Monday’s Celtics practice. ‘€œI haven’€™t spoke to none of them since they got traded,” he said [9]. “Probably [Jason Terry [10]] is the last person I talked to out of them. It just got to the point where it was time to move on for me. They’€™re gone. I can’€™t worry about how they feel or how I feel. The trade happened. When I see them, brief words and then I’€™ll get ready to play.’€

Now, if only Green can back up that statement the way Garnett did in 2011-12. He’s currently shooting a team-worst 27.5 percent from the field on a team-high 10.0 field goal attempts per game and averaging fewer points in more minutes than Phil Pressey. Perhaps that’s what Brandon Bass [11] was trying to say here: ‘€œWe don’€™t have our OG’€™s anymore, so the young G’€™s got to step up and be old G’€™s now and go out and play. It’€™s sunk in.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/15/celtics-at-nets-paul-pierce-in-kevin-garnett-out/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] the Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Jason Kidd: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-kidd.htm

[6] told the New York media: http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/basketball/nets/new-rule-picks-kg-game-article-1.1485798

[7] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[8] I don’t have Ray Allen‘s number anymore: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRY-keMalNs

[9] he said: http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/10/no_big_deal_to_see_nets#sthash.B0uqWr8g.dpuf

[10] Jason Terry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[11] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[12] > Celtics at Nets: Paul Pierce in, Kevin Garnett out" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/15/celtics-at-nets-paul-pierce-in-kevin-garnett-out/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.