- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics to unveil long overdue Bill Russell statue

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 16, 2013 @ 5:36 pm In General | 6 Comments

The Celtics finally announced plans to unveil the long overdue Bill Russell [1] sculpture designed by local artist Ann Hirsch in Boston City Hall Plaza on Nov. 1 at 2 p.m. — prior to the C’s home opener against the Bucks that night.

With Russell and his daughter Karen Kenyatta Russell in attendance, TNT NBA analyst Kenny Smith [2] will emcee the festivities, and the guest list is ridiculous.

There are the usuals: Celtics alumni Tommy Heinsohn, Sam Jones [3], JoJo White, Satch Sanders, Johnny Jones, Em Bryant, Togo Palazzi, Ronnie Watts, Rick Weitzman and Bill Walton [4]; Celtics owners Stephen Pagliuca, Wyc Grousbeck and Bob Epstein; and team president Rich Gotham. NBA commissioner David Stern [5] and his successor Adam Silver, Red Auerbach [6]‘€™s daughters Randy and Nancy, Celtics legend Jim Loscutoff‘€™s wife Lynn and Warriors president Rick Welts are also expected to attend.

The giants [7] of sport: NBA stars Julius Erving, Charles Barkley [8], Elgin Baylor [9], Clyde Drexler [10], George Gervin and Fred Brown; MLB greats Frank Robinson and Joe Morgan; and NFL legend Jim Brown.

The pop culture icons: musicians Johnny Mathis and Bill Withers, Pulitzer prize winners Isabel Wilkerson and Taylor Branch, four-time Emmy Award-winning actress Alfre Woodard and human rights activist Kerry Kennedy.

And politicians: former Senior Advisor to the President David Axelrod, Boston Mayor Thomas Menino, Congressman Joe Kennedy III and MSNBC host Lawrence O’Donnell.

In addition to the sculpture, featuring 11 elements to represent each of Russell’s championship rings, a legacy committee comprised of Russell’s daughter, Heinsohn, Menino, Pagliuca and Bobby Sager established a mentoring grant program in his honor that has already handed out $50,000 to programs in need.

‘€œI am happy to see the Celtics embrace mentoring and create this program that benefits children,’€ Russell said. ‘€œMy lifelong passion is to help the mentoring of children and the biggest honor of my career was to be captain of the Boston Celtics [11].’€

A representation of the sculpture can be found on the artist’s website [12].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/16/celtics-to-unveil-long-overdue-bill-russell-statue/

URLs in this post:

[1] Bill Russell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-russell.htm

[2] Kenny Smith: http://media.weei.com/football/kenny-smith.htm

[3] Sam Jones: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sam-jones.htm

[4] Bill Walton: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walton.htm

[5] David Stern: http://media.weei.com/basketball/david-stern-nba.htm

[6] Red Auerbach: http://media.weei.com/basketball/red-auerbach.htm

[7] giants: http://media.weei.com/baseball/san-francisco-giants.htm

[8] Charles Barkley: http://media.weei.com/golf/charles-barkley.htm

[9] Elgin Baylor: http://media.weei.com/basketball/elgin-baylor.htm

[10] Clyde Drexler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/clyde-drexler.htm

[11] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[12] the artist’s website: http://annhirschstudio.com/home.html

[13] > Celtics to unveil long overdue Bill Russell statue" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/16/celtics-to-unveil-long-overdue-bill-russell-statue/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.