- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA GMs: Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce trade a good idea

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 22, 2013 @ 3:03 pm In General | 8 Comments

For the 12th straight preseason, the NBA surveyed all 30 general managers [1]. Here are the Celtics-related results.

  • While the Celtics-Nets trade tied with Golden State’s sign-and-trade acquisition of Andre Iguodala [2] as the most surprising summer story lines, the C’s were among six teams receiving votes for “best overall moves.”
  • A quarter of responding GMs believe Kelly Olynyk is the draft’s biggest steal — ahead of Ben McLemore, Nerlens Noel, Steven Adams, Giannis Antetokounmpo and Trey Burke. Likewise, 6.7 percent of the respondents think the Celtics [3] rookie will be the draft’s best player in 2018. Only Victor Oladipo (40.0%), Cody Zeller (13.3%), Anthony Bennett (10.0%) and McLemore (10.0%) received more votes.
  • Based on the GM votes, Avery Bradley [4], Kawhi Leonard and Iguodala are tied for the league’s fourth-best perimeter defense, trailing only Tony Allen [5], LeBron James [6] and Paul George.
  • Voters slot Rajon Rondo [7] and Ricky Rubio [8] second behind Chris Paul [9] on the “best passer” scale. Paul also has the game’s best IQ, per votes, ahead of Steve Nash [10], Tim Duncan [11], LeBron, Kobe Bryant [12] and Rondo.

Also, consider former Celtics center Robert Parish [13] among fans of trading Paul Pierce [14] and Kevin Garnett [15].

‘€œI thought they made a great move because Garnett and Pierce only have another year or two of premium basketball left,’€ he told the Boston Herald [16]. ‘€œ[Celtics president of basketball operations] Danny [Ainge] just pulled the plug while they still had something. It was inevitable. And, besides, I like the fact that when he moved them, he sent them to a contender. I really like that. Granted, they’€™re in the same division, but still I really like that it showed how he felt about Paul and Garnett. I like that.

‘€œAs a player, you’€™re thinking, if you’€™re going to move me, at least send me somewhere where I can win a championship.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/22/nba-gms-kevin-garnett-paul-pierce-trade-a-good-idea/

URLs in this post:

[1] the NBA surveyed all 30 general managers: http://www.nba.com/news/2013-14-nba-gm-survey/index.html?ls=iref:nbahpt13a

[2] Andre Iguodala: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-iguodala.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[5] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[6] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[7] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[8] Ricky Rubio: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ricky-rubio.htm

[9] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[10] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[11] Tim Duncan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tim-duncan.htm

[12] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[13] Robert Parish: http://media.weei.com/basketball/robert-parish.htm

[14] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[15] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[16] he told the Boston Herald: http://bostonherald.com/sports/celtics_nba/boston_celtics/2013/10/robert_parish_on_board_with_rebuilding_process#sthash.zjESfYYf.dpuf

[17] > NBA GMs: Kevin Garnett, Paul Pierce trade a good idea" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/22/nba-gms-kevin-garnett-paul-pierce-trade-a-good-idea/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.