- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Brad Stevens’ dreams hold key to World Series

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On October 23, 2013 @ 2:26 pm In General | 1 Comment

Brad Stevens [1] first noticed the magical nature of his slumber when he went nighty-night during Game 2 of the American League Championship Series [2]. As Red Slox slugger David Ortiz [3] drilled an eighth-inning, game-tying grand slam and catcher Jarrod Saltalamacchia [4] lined a game-winning single against the Tigers, the Celtics [5] coach drifted off to a bridge by a fountain where rocking horse people eat marshmallow pies.

“I have to admit, I fell asleep at the end of the Red Sox [6] game,” he admitted [7]. “I’€™m sad to say that, but I woke up as they were celebrating. I don’€™t know exactly how it happened, but I’€™m looking forward to watching the YouTube.”

All it took was one more sorcerous snooze to convince Stevens of his powers. As Shane Victorino [8] lofted his go-ahead, seventh-inning grand slam in Game 6, the C’s skipper slipped into a spell set by actual flying Hawaiians.

“I’€™m absolutely embarrassed and ashamed to say that I fell asleep,” he accepted [9], “but I was really tired.”

And so goes the story of Brad Stevens’ wondrous siestas and their command of the miraculous 2013 Red Sox.

‘€œThe key to the Red Sox is me falling asleep,” the anointed leader of leprechauns told The Boston Globe’s Baxter Holmes. “Because when I’€™m watching, it’€™s hard to score runs. When I’€™m asleep, magic occurs. It’€™s unbelievable.’€

Seriously, no wonder the Celtics employ a sleep doctor [10]. Their coach is a freaking human dreamweaver. Carlton Fisk‘s home run? Not even a zygote. Don Baylor and Dave Henderson‘s homers? Sound asleep in his Hoosiers pajamas. The Bill Buckner [11] boner? Wide awake on Pop Rocks and Nerds. Pedro Martinez [12]‘s no-hit relief appearance? Passed out at one of those epic Depauw University college parties you always read about. The Aaron Boone disaster? Glued to game film all night. The fall of 2004? Pulled a Rip Van Winkle.

Unfortunately, the C’s preseason finale coincides with Game 1 of the World Series [13], so it’s best to root for extra innings, granting Stevens ample time to hit the sack. Enter sandman, indeed. Maybe Leonardo DiCaprio and the fellas could induce this Inception directly in his Garden office. Just don’t forget to kick his chair into the bathtub [14] when Xander Bogaerts touches home in the 11th. Same goes for the only other potential conflict, the Celtics’ season opener on Oct. 30. C’mon, admit it. You just don’t get this kind of Boston sports analysis anywhere else.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/23/brads-stevens-dreams-hold-key-to-world-series/

URLs in this post:

[1] Brad Stevens: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-brad-stevens.htm

[2] American League Championship Series: http://media.weei.com/baseball/american-league-championship-series.htm

[3] David Ortiz: http://media.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[4] Jarrod Saltalamacchia: http://media.weei.com/baseball/jarrod-saltalamacchia.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Red Sox: http://media.weei.com/baseball/boston-red-sox.htm

[7] he admitted: http://espn.go.com/blog/boston/celtics/post/_/id/4707372/practice-cs-revel-in-sox-pats

[8] Shane Victorino: http://media.weei.com/baseball/shane-victorino.htm

[9] he accepted: http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/extras/celtics_blog/2013/10/brad_stevens_falls_asleep_during_another_red_sox_dramatic_wi_2.html

[10] the Celtics employ a sleep doctor: http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/nba-ball-dont-lie/celtics-coach-brad-stevens-understands-importance-good-night-181409730--nba.html

[11] Bill Buckner: http://media.weei.com/baseball/bill-buckner.htm

[12] Pedro Martinez: http://media.weei.com/baseball/pedro-martinez.htm

[13] World Series: http://media.weei.com/baseball/world-series.htm

[14] kick his chair into the bathtub: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_RvGb5quff8

[15] > Brad Stevens’ dreams hold key to World Series" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/23/brads-stevens-dreams-hold-key-to-world-series/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.