- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics can’t deliver Brad Stevens’ first win

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On November 1, 2013 @ 10:11 pm In General | 33 Comments

Bill Russell [1] walked through that door, but he was 79 years old and watching from the front row after the city unveiled a statue in his honor on Friday afternoon. The Celtics [2] still could’ve used his help.

The C’s built a second-half lead as large as 22, but the Bucks outscored them 34-15 in the fourth quarter to regain the lead in the final minute and steal a 105-98 victory in Boston’s home opener.

It wasn’t all bad for the Celtics, who got a double-double from Vitor Faverani (12 points, 18 rebounds) and nearly got a couple more from Brandon Bass [3] (17 points, 9 rebounds) and Jeff Green [4] (13 points, 9 rebounds).

WHAT WENT WRONG

Nets loss: Maybe it was the matchup. Maybe it’s more than that. Maybe it’s Maybelline. Whatever it was, Kris Humphries, Keith Bogans and MarShon Brooks sat on the bench. For the entire game. Only Gerald Wallace [5], who started for the second straight game, saw the floor among those acquired in the Paul Pierce [6]-Kevin Garnett [7] trade.

Glass wipe: The Celtics talked a whole lot about rebounding better after getting trounced on the glass and allowing 19 offensive boards in the season opener. And while they owned the overall rebounding edge against Milwaukee, the C’s still allowed 17 offensive rebounds that led to 22 second-chance points for the Bucks.

Lame late: The Celtics built a lead as large as 22 after a 9-0 lead early in the third quarter, and then proceeded to watch it slowly disappear like a codeine drip. From 9:32 to 3:54 remaining in the fourth quarter, the Bucks went on a 16-4 run that tied the game, 93-93. Wallace drilled a 3-pointer that briefly gave the C’s a cushion, but a late controversial call handed Zaza Pachulia [8] a pair of free throws that gave the Bucks the lead for good in the final minute.

WHAT WENT RIGHT

El Hombre Indestructible: Is Vitor Faverani still the best? It appears so. Vitor likes blocks, so in the opening two minutes of the contest he introduced himself to last year’s block percentage leader, Larry Sanders, with the first of his six blocks. Vitor likes dunks, so he threw one down for his first NBA basket 5:17 into the game. Vitor like rebounds, so he grabbed 11 of them by halftime. Vitor like physical plays, so he tried to charge through Sanders for one of his four turnovers. Hey, Vitor Faverani’s not perfect. He’s just the best.

Downright offensive: Playing without a point guard, the Celtics pushed the ball, attacked the basket and shared the scoring load. Sound familiar? It shouldn’t. These C’s netted 11 points on the break and 23 on second-chance opportunities (thanks to 18 offensive boards), and somehow they did it with just 13 assists on 34 field goals. The offense fell apart late, but the Celtics’ 83 points through three quarters was encouraging.

Wonderful Lee: After committing as many turnovers as he had points and submitting a minus-16 rating against the Raptors on Wednesday night, Courtney Lee [9] bounced back with exactly the type of game the Celtics would like to see out of him on a nightly basis. He added three rebounds and a couple steals to his 13 points in 26 minutes off the bench.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/11/01/fast-break-celtics-cant-deliver-brad-stevens-first-win/

URLs in this post:

[1] Bill Russell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-russell.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[4] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[5] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Zaza Pachulia: http://media.weei.com/basketball/zaza-pachulia.htm

[9] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[10] > Fast Break: Celtics can’t deliver Brad Stevens’ first win" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/11/01/fast-break-celtics-cant-deliver-brad-stevens-first-win/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.