- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics start fast, hold off Nuggets

Posted By Mike Petraglia On December 6, 2013 @ 9:59 pm In General | 12 Comments

This time, the Celtics [1] found a way to hold their 27-point first half lead.

Jordan Crawford scored 22 while Avery Bradley [2] and Kris Humphries each added 18 to lead a balanced attack as the Celtics raced out to huge first half lead and held on for a 106-98 win over the Denver Nuggets [3] Friday night at TD Garden. Jeff Green [4] scored 15 while Brandon Bass [5] added 14.

The win improves the Celtics to 9-12 on the season, which is still good for first place in the underwhelming Atlantic Division.

The Celtics couldn’t have asked for a better start than the one they got Friday night against the Nuggets.

Led by six points from Bradley, the Celtics raced out to a 14-0 lead to open the game. Bradley finished the first quarter with 13 points and the Celtics made 17-of-26 shots (65.4 percent) to open a huge 39-15 lead over a Nuggets team that entered the game 11-7 and in third place in the Northwest Division of the Western Conference.

The Celtics built their lead to 27 when Vitor Faveriani hit a three to open the second quarter.

From that point, the Nuggets began to claw their way back into the game, outscoring Boston 29-25 in the second quarter. Still, thanks to back-to-back dunks from Humphries and Bradley to close the first half, the Celtics led by 20 at the half, 64-44.

Randy Foye hit a three to start a 9-0 Denver run to open the second half. JJ Hickson converted a layup that cut the lead down to 11, 64-53, in the first two minutes of the half. Ty Lawson [6] drilled a pull-up jumper with 7:42 left in the quarter as Denver capped a 20-4 spurt that cut Boston’s lead down to four, 68-64.

Denver would draw to within three twice in the third, the last time coming on a Timofey Mozgov dunk with 3:31 left in the quarter that cut Boston’s lead to 76-73.

Crawford’s three with 39.5 seconds remaining and the shot clock winding down gave the Celtics a 106-96 lead and sealed Boston’s ninth win of the season.

The Celtics avoided repeating last season’s epic 27-point collapse in Atlanta. On Jan. 25, 2013, the Celtics led the Hawks, 48-21, in the second quarter but couldn’t hold on in the second half, losing 123-111, in double-overtime. That was also the last game Rajon Rondo [7] played, as he tore his right ACL late in the game and has been out of action since.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/12/06/celtics-start-fast-hold-off-nuggets/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[3] Denver Nuggets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/denver-nuggets.htm

[4] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[5] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[6] Ty Lawson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ty-lawson.htm

[7] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[8] > Celtics start fast, hold off Nuggets" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/12/06/celtics-start-fast-hold-off-nuggets/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.