- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics No. 4 in Forbes ranking of most valuable NBA franchises

Posted By Jerry Spar On January 22, 2014 @ 1:59 pm In General | 6 Comments

The Celtics [3] are worth $875 million and are the fourth-most valuable franchise in the NBA, according to the annual league list published by Forbes [4] on Wednesday.

According to Forbes’ numbers, the C’s had $169 million in revenue over the past year, with $47 million in operating profit.

The Knicks, worth $1.4 billion, are ranked No. 1 for the second straight year. They earned a league-record profit of $96 million, a 27 percent jump from last year, as the three-year, $1 billion renovation of Madison Square Garden starts to pay off.

The Lakers rank second at $1.35 billion, earning $66 million last year, a 35 percent increase. The Bulls, who have led the league in attendance for four straight seasons, are third at $1 billion, up 25 percent.

The Nets [5], who moved from New Jersey to Brooklyn, jumped from 14th two years ago ($357 million) to fifth ($780 million).

The rest of the top 10 consists of the Rockets ($775 million), Heat ($770 million), Mavericks ($765 million), Warriors ($750 million) and Spurs ($660 million).

The average franchise value is $634 million, up a whopping 25 percent from last year after profits averaged $23.7 million.

As for individual players [6], Forbes figures that Kobe Bryant [7] earned $64.5 million in salary and endorsements to lead the way. LeBron James [8] is next at $61 million, followed by Derrick Rose [9] ($38.6 million, Kevin Durant [10] ($31.8 million) and Dwyane Wade [11] ($30.7 million). Rounding out the top 10 are Carmelo Anthony ($30.4 million), Amar’e Stoudemire ($28.2 million), Dwight Howard [12] ($26.5 million), Dirk Nowitzki [13] ($23.2 million) and Chris Paul [14] ($22.7 million).


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/22/celtics-no-4-in-forbes-ranking-of-most-valuable-nba-franchises/

URLs in this post:

[1] > Celtics No. 4 in Forbes ranking of most valuable NBA franchises" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/22/celtics-no-4-in-forbes-ranking-of-most-valuable-nba-franchises/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[2]  : #disqus_thread

[3] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] annual league list published by Forbes: http://www.forbes.com/sites/kurtbadenhausen/2014/01/22/as-stern-says-goodbye-knicks-lakers-set-records-as-nbas-most-valuable-teams/

[5] The Nets: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[6] As for individual players: http://www.forbes.com/sites/kurtbadenhausen/2014/01/22/kobe-lebron-lead-nbas-highest-paid-players-2014/

[7] Kobe Bryant: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[8] LeBron James: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[9] Derrick Rose: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/derrick-rose.htm

[10] Kevin Durant: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[11] Dwyane Wade: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[12] Dwight Howard: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[13] Dirk Nowitzki: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/dirk-nowitzki.htm

[14] Chris Paul: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.