- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rajon Rondo will sit vs. Wizards, Celtics announce

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On January 22, 2014 @ 4:40 pm In General | 1 Comment

Rajon Rondo [1] will not play against the Wizards [2] on Wednesday, the second night of a back-to-back following a 93-86 loss to the Heat.

The Celtics [3] cited “precautionary reasons” for holding out Rondo in just his fourth scheduled game since returning from ACL surgery.

Meanwhile, Jerryd Bayless (toe) and Avery Bradley [4] (ankle) are also expected to miss Wednesday’s game, leaving only undrafted rookie point guard Phil Pressey and recently signed D-League guard Vander Blue as the only healthy members of the C’s backcourt against Wizards starters John Wall [5] and Bradley Beal.

Wings Jeff Green [6], Gerald Wallace [7] and Chris Johnson [8], who scored 11 points in his Celtics [3] debut Tuesday, could also see minutes at the 2.

Keep in mind veteran guard Keith Bogans was granted leave from the team over a playing time dispute and remains on the roster for $5.1 million.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/22/rajon-rondo-will-sit-vs-wizards-celtics-announce/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Wizards: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/john-wall-wizards.htm

[3] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Avery Bradley: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[5] John Wall: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/john-wall.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] Gerald Wallace: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[8] Chris Johnson: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/chris-johnson.htm

[9] > Rajon Rondo will sit vs. Wizards, Celtics announce" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/22/rajon-rondo-will-sit-vs-wizards-celtics-announce/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.