- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

LeBron James, Kevin Durant headline NBA All-Star Game starters

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On January 23, 2014 @ 9:44 pm In General | 1 Comment

The NBA announced the starters for the 2014 NBA All-Star Game, and naturally leading MVP candidates LeBron James [1] and Kevin Durant [2] are the leading vote-getters for the Eastern and Western conferences, respectively.

The roster includes no Celtics [3], who are in danger of failing to produce an All-Star for the first time since 2007, when Paul Pierce [4] suffered through an injury-plagued season, and only the 10th time in the game’s 63-year history.

Rajon Rondo [5] and Jeff Green [6] are the C’s only hopes for a spot when the voting from coaches reveals the final seven Eastern Conference All-Stars on Jan. 30, but neither is expected the make the roster (unless Rondo receives the sympathy vote for his fifth selection). Each received more than 100,000 fan votes  – well shy of a starting spot.

Old friends Ray Allen [7] and Kevin Garnett [8] edged out Rondo and Green in the fan voting for backcourt and frontcourt players, respectively, although Green received 26,006 more votes than Pierce. Here are your 2014 starters:

EASTERN CONFERENCE

LeBron James [1] (1,416,419 votes)
Paul George (1,211,318)
Carmelo Anthony (935,702)
Dwyane Wade [9] (929,542)
Kyrie Irving (860,221)

WESTERN CONFERENCE

Kevin Durant [2] (1,396,294 votes)
Stephen Curry
(1,047,281)
Kobe Bryant [10] (988,884)
Blake Griffin [11] (688,466)
Kevin Love [12] (661,246)

Bryant, who received his 16th All-Star bid despite participating in just six games this season, will likely be replaced in the starting West backcourt by Chris Paul [13] (804,309 votes) due to the Lakers star’s knee injury.

Likewise, should Wade’s knee injury keep him from participating in his 10th All-Star Game, John Wall [14] (393,129) would be the second starting guard alongside Irving in the East. Among the remaining healthy Eastern Conference guards, only Allen received more votes than Rondo, but his fate lies in the coaches’ hands now.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/23/lebron-james-kevin-durant-headline-nba-all-star-game-starters/

URLs in this post:

[1] LeBron James: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[2] Kevin Durant: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[3] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Jeff Green: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[7] Ray Allen: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] Dwyane Wade: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[10] Kobe Bryant: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[11] Blake Griffin: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/blake-griffin.htm

[12] Kevin Love: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-love.htm

[13] Chris Paul: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[14] John Wall: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/john-wall.htm

[15] > LeBron James, Kevin Durant headline NBA All-Star Game starters" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/23/lebron-james-kevin-durant-headline-nba-all-star-game-starters/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.