- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Kevin Durant (shoulder) to miss Oklahoma City Thunder game against Celtics

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 24, 2014 @ 7:10 pm In General | No Comments

At least the Celtics [1] don’t have to worry about Kevin Durant [2].

The Oklahoma City Thunder [3] superstar will sit out Friday’s game against the Celtics [4] to rest his shoulder, dinged up in a win over the Spurs Wednesday night. Durant had 21 points, eight assists and seven rebounds in Oklahoma City’s 119-96 win over the Celtics on Jan. 5 in Oklahoma City. The Thunder enter the game with a 33-10 mark, a half-game better than the Spurs for best record in the West.

Thunder coach Scott Brooks [5] said before the game that Perry Jones will fill in for Durant.

“Kevin definitely loves the game. He’s not one that looks forward to missing games,” Brooks said. “The guy is a gamer. He loves to play.”

Durant also loves to score, something he’s done at will in the last nine games. Durant has scored at least 30 points in nine straight games, averaging 38.9 points over that run for the Thunder.

“It’s the best thing for him. Until he’s ready to play, he’s not going to play, regardless of how he feels or what he wants to do. It’s a medical decision,” Brooks added.

For the first time in Thunder history Durant and Russell Westbrook [6] won’t be in their lineup.

“I never looked at it that way,” Brooks said. “I know we’ve always had guys that step up. We have a team that takes challenges every night. You never want to be without your players, not only us but the entire league. Regardless of if he’s a starter or not a starter, you want your entire roster to give yourself the best chance. We have more than enough to compete. Old coach of mine [said]: ‘All you need is five.'”

Durant is certainly a leader in the early MVP race, averaging a league best 31.0 points. Durant has already won three NBA regular season scoring titles.

“I’ve seen Kobe Bryant [7] score 40 points in nine straight games,” Durant told NewsOK.com on Thursday. “Michael Jordan [8] have 11 triple-doubles in 12 games. LeBron James [9] have a month when he’s averaging 35 points. So those guys, that’s something to write home about.”

As for Durant, he may or may not return for the Thunder’s next game, in Philadelphia Saturday night. The

The Thunder, meanwhile, visit the Philadelphia 76ers [10] on Saturday night. Brooks wasn’t sure if Durant will be back for that game.

The Thunder don’t figure to need Durant against the Sixers who, like the 15-29 Celtics, are bringing up the rear of the Atlantic Division.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/24/kevin-durant-shoulder-to-miss-oklahoma-city-thunder-game-against-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Kevin Durant: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[3] Oklahoma City Thunder: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[4] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Scott Brooks: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/scott-brooks.htm

[6] Russell Westbrook: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[7] Kobe Bryant: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[8] Michael Jordan: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[9] LeBron James: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[10] Philadelphia 76ers: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/philadelphia-76ers.htm

[11] > Kevin Durant (shoulder) to miss Oklahoma City Thunder game against Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/01/24/kevin-durant-shoulder-to-miss-oklahoma-city-thunder-game-against-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.