- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Jared Sullinger, Jerryd Bayless provide offensive punch, lead short-handed C’s to win

Posted By Mike Petraglia On February 7, 2014 @ 9:50 pm In General | 42 Comments

The short-handed Celtics [1] have suddenly won three straight.

Jared Sullinger scored a career high 31 points and grabbed 16 rebounds to lead the short-handed Celtics [1] to their third straight win, a 99-89 victory over the Kings Friday night at TD Garden. All three wins (Orlando, Philadelphia and Sacramento) come against losing teams that figure to provide much stiffer competition for draft position in the NBA lottery this spring.

Playing without Rajon Rondo [2] (knee soreness) and Avery Bradley [3] (ankle), Jerryd Bayless (19 points) and Kelly Olynyk (11 points, nine rebounds, five assists) also helped to pick up the slack.

Gerald Wallace [4] added eight points, grabbed 12 rebounds and dished nine assists as the Celtics [1] have followed up their worst month in history (2-15 in January) with three straight wins to open February.

Jeff Green [5] added 17 points on 6-of-20 shooting to help the Celtics improve to 18-33, which may not be great news in the long run. Boston moved 3.5 games ahead of last place Philadelphia in the Atlantic Division.

The Kings took advantage of the depleted Celtics early on, building a 29-19 lead late in the first quarter. DeMarcus Cousins [6] was big early on, scoring 13 of his team-high 31 points in the opening quarter. Cousins and Sullinger each finished with 31 points and 16 rebounds. Sacramento led 29-21 after 12 minutes.

But Olynyk led the Celtics back in the second quarter, scoring nine of his 11 first-half points off the bench. Olynyk couldn’t miss in the first half, hitting all three field goals, including a 3-pointer, while draining all four free throws. Olynyk had eight of Boston’s 12 points in a 12-0 run that put the Celtics on top, 31-29. Boston outscored Sacramento, 28-17, in the second quarter to grab a 49-46 halftime lead.

The Kings scored the first six points of the second half, taking a 52-49 lead, moving coach Brad Stevens [7] to call a time out. After the break, the Celtics responded with a 10-0 run. The Kings responded with the game’s next seven points to tie the game again, a trend that continued for most of the third quarter as the Celtics led, 71-69, heading into the final 12 minutes.

Isaiah Thomas [8] added 24 points for the Kings and got into a brief scuffle with Bayless late in the fourth quarter under the Kings basket. The tussle came close to spilling into the stands but was brought under control just in time. Both players were assessed technicals but remained in the game.

The Celtics opened the fourth quarter on an 18-4 run and were never threatened down the stretch. The Celtics have Saturday off before hosting the Dallas Mavericks [9] on Sunday evening (6:30 p.m. ET) at TD Garden.

For more, visit the Celtics team page at weei.com/celtics [10].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/07/jared-sullinger-jerryd-bayless-provide-punch-off-bench-lead-short-handed-cs-to-win/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Avery Bradley: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[4] Gerald Wallace: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] DeMarcus Cousins: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/demarcus-cousins.htm

[7] Brad Stevens: http://audio.weei.com/ncaa/coach-brad-stevens.htm

[8] Isaiah Thomas: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/isaiah-thomas.htm

[9] Dallas Mavericks: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/dallas-mavericks.htm

[10] weei.com/celtics: http://www.weei.com/celtics

[11] > Jared Sullinger, Jerryd Bayless provide offensive punch, lead short-handed C’s to win" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/07/jared-sullinger-jerryd-bayless-provide-punch-off-bench-lead-short-handed-cs-to-win/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.