- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Danny Ainge shopping Jeff Green to Atlanta Hawks in possible trade

Posted By Mike Petraglia On February 9, 2014 @ 7:16 pm In General | 45 Comments

Danny Ainge might not be shopping Rajon Rondo [3] but Jeff Green [4] is another matter.

The New York Daily News reported Sunday that the Celtics [5] vice president of basketball operations is shopping the forward around and the Atlanta Hawks [6] reportedly have serious interest in acquiring him before the Feb. 20 deadline.

Green has $18.4 million left in guaranteed money after this season, including a player option for $9.2 million for 2015-16. He is leading the Celtics [5] in scoring this season at 16.3 while playing in all 52 games through Sunday.

Sam Amick of USA Today reported Sunday that the Knicks might be willing to take on Green’s contract [7] or that of Gerald Wallace [8] in order to entice Ainge to trade Rondo to the Knicks in exchange for a package that could include Amar’e Stoudemire and several young players.

The Hawks are clearly looking to add pieces to a roster they think can make a move in the underwhelming Eastern Conference this season. They stood 25-24 entering Sunday’s action, in fourth place in the East, just a half-game ahead of Chicago Bulls [9].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/09/report-danny-ainge-shopping-jeff-green-to-atlanta-hawks-in-possible-trade/

URLs in this post:

[1] > Report: Danny Ainge shopping Jeff Green to Atlanta Hawks in possible trade" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/09/report-danny-ainge-shopping-jeff-green-to-atlanta-hawks-in-possible-trade/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[2]  : #disqus_thread

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Jeff Green: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[5] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Atlanta Hawks: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/atlanta-hawks.htm

[7] the Knicks might be willing to take on Green’s contract: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/09/those-pesky-rajon-rondo-to-new-york-knicks-trade-rumors-wont-go-away/

[8] Gerald Wallace: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[9] Chicago Bulls: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[10] #Hawks: https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hawks&src=hash

[11] #Celtics: https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Celtics&src=hash

[12] February 9, 2014: https://twitter.com/Mitch_Lawrence/statuses/432620359733751808

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.