- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Those pesky Rajon Rondo to New York Knicks trade rumors won’t go away

Posted By Mike Petraglia On February 9, 2014 @ 1:10 pm In General | 45 Comments

Rajon Rondo (AP)

Rajon Rondo [3] (AP)

Apparently the New York Knicks [4] don’t want to believe Danny Ainge.

A report in the USA Today indicates that the Knicks, who stand 20-30 heading into Sunday, still believe they can pry away superstar point guard Rajon Rondo [3] for the right package.

Part of their desperation, Sam Amick’s report suggests [5], has to do with the desire to keep another superstar – Carmelo Anthony – from bolting Broadway.

“The Knicks have a strong belief that he can be had,” Amick writes.

Amick points out the Knicks can offer Amar’e Stoudemire, who has one season remaining after this one, at $23.4 million, while also taking future money back, i.e. Gerald Wallace [6] (two years/$20 million) and/or Jeff Green [7] (two years/$18.4 million). This would help Ainge clear the way for the summer of 2015 when he can add free agents to a possibly lottery pick or two.

The Knicks can’t offer any first round draft picks until 2018 but they could include point guard Raymond Felton [8], promising young swingman Iman Shumpert and rookie Tim Hardaway Jr.

Earlier this season it was reported that Anthony was trying to lure Rondo, a former teammate at Oak Hill Academy, to the Knicks.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/09/those-pesky-rajon-rondo-to-new-york-knicks-trade-rumors-wont-go-away/

URLs in this post:

[1] > Those pesky Rajon Rondo to New York Knicks trade rumors won’t go away" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/09/those-pesky-rajon-rondo-to-new-york-knicks-trade-rumors-wont-go-away/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[2]  : #disqus_thread

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] New York Knicks: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/new-york-knicks.htm

[5] Sam Amick’s report suggests: http://www.usatoday.com/story/sports/nba/2014/02/07/a-to-z-trade-talks-selling-carmelo-anthony-kyrie-irving-rajon-rondo/5295879/

[6] Gerald Wallace: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[7] Jeff Green: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[8] Raymond Felton: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/raymond-felton.htm

Copyright © 2009 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.