- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics trade rumor: Brandon Bass is Danny Ainge’s most likely deadline deal

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On February 10, 2014 @ 1:32 pm In General | 1 Comment

Brandon Bass [1]

Brandon Bass [2]

Ten days before the NBA trade deadline, Celtics [3] forward Brandon Bass [2] is the most likely player on the roster to be dealt, according to a Sporting News report [4].

The Warriors, Bobcats and Suns are reportedly the most likely destinations for Bass, who is owed $6.9 million next season — the going rate for a player with his production (10.8 ppg, 5.8 rpg, 1.2 apg, 54.1 TS%, 15.0 PER, 1,425 minutes).

‘€œHe is a good fit in a lot of places,’€ a league executive told the Sporting News. ‘€œHe can start, he can come off the bench, he can make shots, he can play center against small lineups. A lot of teams need a guy like that.”

Golden State’s best offer? Something like Marreese Speights (owed $3.7 million next season), injured center Festus Ezeli, Jermaine O’Neal‘s expiring contract (bought out before he ever returned to Boston) and a future pick (the Warriors don’t have a No. 1 this season). But does that really upgrade their roster?

The Bobcats could package either of their protected first-round picks (Blazers, Pistons) along with expiring contracts (Ben Gordon [5], Ramon Sessions) or recent lottery disappointments (Cody Zeller, Bismack Biyombo). Bass and Keith Bogans‘ expiring contract for Gordon’s expiring deal and Portland’s No. 1 pick is an intriguing possibility that would save the Celtics [3] $6.9 million next season and another pick in the loaded 2014 draft.

Likewise, the Suns’ best trade chips are Emeka Okafor [6]‘s $14.5 million expiring contract and any number of four protected 2014 first-round picks (Timberwolves [7], Wizards, Pacers and their own). Given Suns general manager Ryan McDonough‘s prior work under Celtics president Danny Ainge, it wouldn’t be a surprise to see the two sides hammer out a deal should their pursuit of Pau Gasol [8] fall through. Bass and Jeff Green [9] for Okafor’s expiring contract and the Pacers pick would save the Celtics $25.3 million over the next two seasons, for example.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/10/celtics-trade-rumor-brandon-bass-is-danny-ainges-most-likely-deadline-deal/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/Bass_Brandon-Celtics-head-11.jpg

[2] Brandon Bass: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[3] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] a Sporting News report: http://www.sportingnews.com/nba/story/2014-02-10/boston-celtics-brandon-bass-trade-rumors-deadline-phoenix-suns-golden-state-warriors-charlotte-bobcats

[5] Ben Gordon: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/ben-gordon.htm

[6] Emeka Okafor: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/emeka-okafor.htm

[7] Timberwolves: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[8] Pau Gasol: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[9] Jeff Green: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[10] > Celtics trade rumor: Brandon Bass is Danny Ainge’s most likely deadline deal" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/10/celtics-trade-rumor-brandon-bass-is-danny-ainges-most-likely-deadline-deal/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.