- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA trade deadline roundup: 76ers reportedly send Spencer Hawes to Cavaliers; Jason Terry heads to Kings

Posted By Jerry Spar On February 20, 2014 @ 11:45 am In General | No Comments

The 76ers continued their trend of loading up on draft picks and weakening their current roster when they sent center Spencer Hawes [1] to the Cavaliers [2] on Thursday, according to multiple reports.

Philadelphia reportedly will get two second-round draft picks and backup forward Earl Clark for Hawes, who is averaging 13.0 points and 8.5 rebounds in the final year of a deal that pays $6.6 million this season.

The 76ers have the second-worst record in the NBA at 15-40, leading only the Bucks (10-43). The Cavaliers [2] are 22-33 and three games out of a playoff spot in the embarrassingly bad Eastern Conference.

Jason Terry [3] is on the move again. The veteran guard, traded along with Paul Pierce [4] and Kevin Garnett [5] from the Celtics [6] to the Nets [7] in the offseason, was sent to the Kings along with Reggie Evans [8] for guard Marcus Thornton.

Terry, 36, is averaging a career-worst 4.5 points and 1.5 assists while playing 16.3 minutes over 35 games this season. Evans, 33, is averaging 2.7 points and 5.0 rebounds in 13.3 minutes over 30 games.

Thornton, 26, is averaging 8.3 points and 2.7 rebounds in 24.4 minutes over 46 games. He makes $8.1 million this year and is due $8.6 million next season.

“Marcus is a proven scorer in this league,” Nets general manager Billy King said in a statement. “He is a young talent who will help us in the backcourt.”

– The Lakers and Warriors confirmed that guard Steve Blake [9] is headed to Golden State for backup guards Kent Bazemore and former Celtic Marshon Brooks.

“The acquisition of Steve Blake [9] will provide us with additional veteran depth at point guard as we enter the stretch run of the season,” Warriors general manager Bob Myers said in a statement. “He’s had a productive career and is a player who can both run an offense and has the ability to shoot the basketball. On the other hand, we thank Kent and MarShon for their contributions to our team both on and off the court and wish them success as they enter the next stage of their careers.”

Blake, who becomes an unrestricted free agent after the season, heads to his seventh team in his 11-year career.

 


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/20/nba-trade-deadline-roundup-76ers-reportedly-send-spencer-hawes-to-cavaliers-jason-terry-heads-to-kings/

URLs in this post:

[1] Spencer Hawes: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/spencer-hawes.htm

[2] Cavaliers: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[3] Jason Terry: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jason-terry.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] the Nets: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[8] Reggie Evans: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/reggie-evans.htm

[9] Steve Blake: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/steve-blake.htm

[10] @SteveBlake5: https://twitter.com/SteveBlake5

[11] Pau Gasol: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[12] February 20, 2014: https://twitter.com/paugasol/statuses/436387693941886976

[13] > NBA trade deadline roundup: 76ers reportedly send Spencer Hawes to Cavaliers; Jason Terry heads to Kings" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/02/20/nba-trade-deadline-roundup-76ers-reportedly-send-spencer-hawes-to-cavaliers-jason-terry-heads-to-kings/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.