- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Gerald Wallace undergoes surgery, officially out for remainder of Celtics season

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On March 4, 2014 @ 1:04 pm In General | 12 Comments

Gerald Wallace [1] is officially out for the remainder of the season, the Celtics [2] announced on Tuesday. He underwent separate arthroscopic surgeries to repair a torn meniscus on his left knee and bone spurs in his left ankle.

Thus ends the first season of the cumbersome three years and $30.3 million remaining on his contract when Boston acquired him in the trade that sent Paul Pierce [3] and Kevin Garnett [4] to the Nets [5] this past summer.

After failing to show up for his introductory press conference, he professed his love [6] for David Ortiz [7] and Tom Brady [8] at Media Day. That’s where the highlights of his first Celtics [2] season begin and end. The former NBA All-Star averaged 5.1 points, 3.7 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.3 steals in 24.4 minutes over 58 games — all while regularly calling out his teammates [9] over a lack of effort.

Meanwhile, Kelly Olynyk (toe) has shed his walking boot and could return from his two-game absence for Wednesday’s home tilt agains the Warriors. Likewise, Avery Bradley [10] (ankle) will undergo an MRI to determine his status, according to reports out of Celtics [11] practice.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/03/04/gerald-wallace-undergoes-surgery-officially-out-for-remainder-of-celtics-season/

URLs in this post:

[1] Gerald Wallace: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[2] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] the Nets: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[6] professed his love: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/10/14/gerald-wallace-should-rethink-his-tom-brady-david-ortiz-man-crushes/

[7] David Ortiz: http://audio.weei.com/baseball/david-ortiz.htm

[8] Tom Brady: http://audio.weei.com/football/tom-brady.htm

[9] regularly calling out his teammates: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2013/11/02/gerald-wallace-cant-stop-calling-out-celtics/

[10] Avery Bradley: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[11] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[12] > Gerald Wallace undergoes surgery, officially out for remainder of Celtics season" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/03/04/gerald-wallace-undergoes-surgery-officially-out-for-remainder-of-celtics-season/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.