- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics starting shooting struggles spell defeat in Dallas

Posted By WEEI On March 17, 2014 @ 11:26 pm In General | No Comments

Dirk Nowitzki scored 19 to lead the Mavericks past the Celtics. (AP)

Dirk Nowitzki [1] scored 19 to lead the Mavericks past the Celtics [2]. (AP)

Though Jerryd Bayless nearly inspired a single-handed fourth-quarter comeback, a pulseless performance from the rest of the Celtics starting five yielded a 94-89 loss to the Mavericks. Bayless — who led the Celtics with 19 points — scored nine straight points in a 2:01 stretch in the game’s final minutes, and the C’s got within a point at 90-89 with just 22 seconds remaining, but Dallas converted four free throws to put the game away.

Despite the late outburst by Bayless, the Celtics’ starting five put together a brutal performance. The quintet of Bayless, Avery Bradley [3] (11 points), Kris Humphries (5 points), Brandon Bass [4] (5 points) and Jeff Green [5] (5 points) amassed a combined 45 points on 17-of-55 (31 percent) from the floor, with Green (2-of-12) struggling through a particularly dismal performance. The poor shooting offset a solid night for the Celtics bench (led by Kelly Olynyk, who scored 16 and grabbed nine boards, and Jared Sullinger, who scored 13 with nine reboundes) and a dominant night on the glass (Boston outrebounded Dallas, 57-36).

The Mavericks were led by Dirk Nowitzki‘s 19 points and 10 point on a perfect 5-of-5 off the bench by Brandan Wright [6].

For more from the game, click here [7].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/03/17/celtics-starting-shooting-struggles-spell-defeat-in-dallas/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dirk Nowitzki: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/dirk-nowitzki.htm

[2] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Avery Bradley: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[4] Brandon Bass: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[5] Jeff Green: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[6] Brandan Wright: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/brandan-wright.htm

[7] click here: http://weei.stats.com/nba/boxscore.asp?gamecode=2014031706&home=6&vis=2&final=true

[8] > Celtics starting shooting struggles spell defeat in Dallas" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/03/17/celtics-starting-shooting-struggles-spell-defeat-in-dallas/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.