- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rajon Rondo wants a say in rebuilding of Celtics: ‘Danny Ainge has always been in communication with me’

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 17, 2014 @ 12:12 am In General | No Comments

Following a season-ending 118-102 loss to the playoff-bound Wizards [1] at TD Garden, Celtics [2] captain Rajon Rondo [3] talked about what he’s learned from this 25-win season and how he can become a better leader. Rondo also acknowledged that he would like input on the make-up of the roster next season.

“Every team is different,” Rondo said. “This is a new [situation] with me being the only guy here back when Kevin Garnett [4] and Paul Pierce [5] were here. [Roster rebuilding] isn’t new. I still think I have been involved. I was in trade talk myself. Danny Ainge has always been in communication with me, what he has planned and what he has in store for this team.

“Being a leader, I just have to do it more than talking.”

Asked if that means doing it more by example on and off the court, Rondo answered, “Correct.”

How will a 25-57 season drive him this offseason?

“Motivation for next year we have a lot to work on and I look forward to next year,” Rondo said. “A good group to play with and a lot of great guys a lot of young guys just trying to be better.”

Does he want to be back?

“Next question,” Rondo said, referring to comments he made a week earlier indicating he feels he is a part of the team’s future.

Rondo said he will not watch the NBA playoffs [6], which begin this weekend. Instead Rondo maintains he looks forward to a summer of work as he continues to build his legs back to 100 percent, 15 months after ACL surgery on his right knee.

If he puts in the work, Rondo figures the rest of the team will follow.

‘€œIt shows the group of guys we have,” Rondo said. “It starts with Danny Ainge and it starts with Brad Stevens [7]. We had guys like Chris Babbs and Chris Johnson [8] to come help us and help brighten their future.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/04/17/rajon-rondo-wants-a-say-in-the-rebuilding-of-the-celtics-danny-ainge-has-always-been-in-communication-with-me/

URLs in this post:

[1] Wizards: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/washington-wizards.htm

[2] Celtics: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Kevin Garnett: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] NBA playoffs: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/nba-playoffs.htm

[7] Brad Stevens: http://audio.weei.com/ncaa/coach-brad-stevens.htm

[8] Chris Johnson: http://audio.weei.com/basketball/chris-johnson.htm

[9] > Rajon Rondo wants a say in rebuilding of Celtics: ‘Danny Ainge has always been in communication with me’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/04/17/rajon-rondo-wants-a-say-in-the-rebuilding-of-the-celtics-danny-ainge-has-always-been-in-communication-with-me/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.