- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics acquire Tyler Zeller, Marcus Thornton, 1st-round pick in deal that may pave way for LeBron James to Cleveland

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On July 9, 2014 @ 10:51 am In General | No Comments

Marcus Thornton [1]

Marcus Thornton

The Celtics [2] acquired Tyler Zeller and a first-round pick from the Cavaliers [3] and Marcus Thornton from the Nets [4] in a three-team trade that may pave the way for LeBron James [5]‘ return to Cleveland, ESPN’s Marc Stein first reported [6].

In return, the Celtics [2] are sending a second-round pick to the Cavs and using the $10.3 million trade exception they received upon dealing Paul Pierce [7] and Kevin Garnett [8] to Brooklyn last summer. That TPE was set to expire on Saturday.

Meanwhile, the Nets [4] receive Jarrett Jack [9] and Sergey Karasev from the Cavaliers [3], freeing enough cap space (roughly $24.0 million) for Cleveland to potentially offer James a maximum contract of four years, $94.8 million.

As a result, the Celtics [2] reportedly received Cleveland’s No. 1 pick in 2016 (top-10 protected through 2018), a 24-year-old 7-footer under their control through 2016 and Thornton’s expiring $8.6 million contract for a second-round pick.

In addition to acquiring Zeller, who averaged 13.7 points and 9.7 rebounds per 36 minutes last season, the Celtics [2] could have as many as nine first-round picks over the next four seasons and $41.4 million in expiring contracts (Rajon Rondo [10]‘s $12.9 million, Brandon Bass [11]‘ $6.9 million, Joel Anthony [12]‘s $3.8 million and potentially Jeff Green [13]‘s $9.2 million player option). There’s no doubt the move puts the Celtics [2] in a better position to acquire Kevin Love [14] or any other desirable player by trade this season or by free agency next summer.

According to Kirk Goldsberry‘s easily digestible shot charts [15], Zeller (1,049 min, 5.7 ppg, 4.0 rpg, 58.1 TS%, 15.4 PER) attempted nearly 70 percent of his shots around the basket and converted almost 60 percent of them. Likewise, Thornton (1,741 min, 9.8 ppg, 2.8 rpg, 1.1 apg, 51.1 TS%, 12.0 PER) is a decent enough 3-point shooter from the right corner, left arc and straightaway, but underwhelming from mid-range and the paint. Neither are considered defensive stalwarts. Quite simply, this trade, in a vacuum, does not make the C’s much better this year.

Additionally, the Celtics [2] now have $64.7 million in guaranteed contracts dedicated to Rondo, Gerald Wallace [16] ($10.1M), Green, Thornton, Bass, Anthony, Avery Bradley [17] (estimated $8M), Vitor Faverani ($2.1M), Kelly Olynyk ($2.1M), Zeller ($1.7M) and Jared Sullinger ($1.4M). That puts them over the estimated $63.2 million salary cap. Details of Marcus Smart‘s contract haven’t emerged, but cap holds for him and James Young already add another $4.1 million to that number. Likewise, the C’s also have Phil Pressey, Chris Johnson [18] and Chris Babb signed to non-guaranteed minimum contracts, pushing their current commitments to $69.7 million.

In other words, the best the Celtics [2] can now offer a free agent is the non-taxpayer mid-level exception ($5.3M), meaning Ainge probably isn’t done dealing this summer, especially if he hopes to avoid the lottery again next year.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/07/09/celtics-acquire-tyler-zeller-marcus-thornton-and-1st-round-pick-in-deal-that-may-pave-way-for-lebron-james-to-cleveland/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/marcus-thornton-basketball-headshot-photo.jpg

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[4] Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[5] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[6] ESPN’s Marc Stein first reported: https://twitter.com/ESPNSteinLine

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] Jarrett Jack: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jarrett-jack.htm

[10] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[11] Brandon Bass: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-bass.htm

[12] Joel Anthony: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joel-anthony.htm

[13] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[14] Kevin Love: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-love.htm

[15] easily digestible shot charts: https://twitter.com/kirkgoldsberry/status/486896300793683969

[16] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[17] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[18] Chris Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-johnson.htm

[19] > Celtics acquire Tyler Zeller, Marcus Thornton, 1st-round pick in deal that may pave way for LeBron James to Cleveland" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/07/09/celtics-acquire-tyler-zeller-marcus-thornton-and-1st-round-pick-in-deal-that-may-pave-way-for-lebron-james-to-cleveland/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[20]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.