- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

The Rajon Rondo trade rumor mill begins in earnest

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On July 14, 2014 @ 10:50 am In General | No Comments

Having missed out on Chris Bosh in free agency, Rockets general manager Daryl Morey‘s search for a third star to pair with Dwight Howard [1] and James Harden [2] continues with Rajon Rondo [3] and Kevin Love [4], per ESPN’s Marc Stein [5].

The Celtics [6] captain is reportedly a “longtime Houston target” on the trade market.

While the Rockets have created a boatload of salary cap wiggle room, trading both Omer Asik and Jeremy Lin [7] in addition to letting Chandler Parsons walk, Morey has few assets remaining to deal for either Rondo or Love, let alone both.

Houston reportedly dealt its 2015 first-round selection in the Lin deal and acquired a protected No. 1 pick from the Pelicans, but because teams cannot complete trades that could leave them without a top pick in consecutive seasons, the Rockets could not offer the Celtics [6] or Timberwolves [8] a first-rounder until 2017.

Likewise, following Parsons’ departure, the Rockets have few players to offer not named Howard or Harden. The newly acquired Trevor Ariza‘s four-year, $32 million deal by way of a three-team trade cannot be dealt for another two months.

While the Celtics [6] and Rockets could both get themselves under the cap to complete a deal, Houston’s offer would have to include some combination of Terrence Jones (12.1 ppg, 6.9 rpg, 1.3 bpg, 1.1 apg, 57.7 TS%, 19.1 PER), Patrick Beverly (10.2 ppg, 3.2 rpg, 2.7 apg, 1.4 spg, 54.5 TS%, 12.4 PER) and unsigned first-round pick Clint Cappela. None of those names exactly scream equal value for either Rondo or Love.

Still, Rondo will be on the trading block should the Celtics not acquire Love themselves, and Morey is a creative GM capable of involving other teams in a package enticing enough to land the C’s point guard. This isn’t the first Rondo trade rumor you’ve seen, and it won’t be the last, but it may really be the beginning of the end of his Boston tenure.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/07/14/the-rajon-rondo-trade-rumor-mill-begins-in-earnest/

URLs in this post:

[1] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[2] James Harden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-harden.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Kevin Love: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-love.htm

[5] per ESPN’s Marc Stein: https://twitter.com/ESPNSteinLine/status/488673449188278273

[6] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] Jeremy Lin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeremy-lin.htm

[8] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[9] > The Rajon Rondo trade rumor mill begins in earnest" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/07/14/the-rajon-rondo-trade-rumor-mill-begins-in-earnest/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.