- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Phil Pressey contract guaranteed for 2014-15

Posted By Mike Petraglia On July 15, 2014 @ 10:43 pm In General | No Comments

The Celtics [1] have seen enough to believe little Phil Pressey can be a big part of their immediate future.

According to Steve Bulpett of the Boston Herald, Pressey’s contract will be guaranteed next season after passing the midnight Tuesday deadline.

 

President of basketball operations Danny Ainge last year signed the 5-foot-11 Pressey, Chris Johnson [3] and Chris Babb to separate four-year non-guaranteed contracts. Under terms of the contracts, Pressey, Johnson and Babb will be paid under a million dollars annually through 2016-17. Pressey made approximately $490,000 last season, the rookie minimum.

After going undrafted in the 2013 NBA Draft, Pressey signed with the Celtics [1] to play in the 2013 Orlando Summer League. He was no stranger to the Celtics [1]. Pressey’s AAU team had practiced at the team facility in Waltham where the Celtics [1] first had eyes on him. His performance in the Summer League led to Pressey signing a deal on July 22, 2013.

Pressey became valuable as the Celtics [1] began the season without four-time All-Star point guard Rajon Rondo [4], who was still rehabbing his ACL, torn in Jan. 2013. Pressey made his regular season debut in the 2013-€“14 Celtics [1] season opener Oct. 30 at the Air Canada Centre [5] against the Toronto. He did not play in the next three games, but after the Celtics [1] got off to an 0-4 start, head coach Brad Stevens [6] shuffled the lineup.

On Nov. 6, at home against the Utah Jazz [7], Pressey recorded the first three assists, first steal and first field goal of his career. On Jan. 22, with Rajon Rondo [4], Avery Bradley [8] and Jerryd Bayless all sitting out and Pressey making his second career start, Pressey scored a career-high 20 points against Washington before fouling out.

He posted a double-double on April 5 against the Detroit Pistons [9] with 12 points and a career-high 11 assists. On April 11, he had another career high with 13 assists as part of a 10-point double double against the Charlotte Bobcats [10]. He matched the 13 assists the following night against the Cleveland Cavaliers [11]. He finished the season averaging 2.8 points and 3.2 assists in 15.1 minutes in 75 games for the Celtics [1].

This month, Pressey traveled with the Celtics to Orlando for the 2014 NBA Summer League, where he averaged 10.6 points, 3.6 assists and 2.2 steals per game in five games.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/07/15/report-phil-pressey-contract-guaranteed-for-2014-15/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] July 15, 2014: https://twitter.com/SteveBHoop/statuses/489170180476379136

[3] Chris Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-johnson.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Air Canada Centre: http://media.weei.com/basketball/air-canada-centre.htm

[6] Brad Stevens: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-brad-stevens.htm

[7] Utah Jazz: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[8] Avery Bradley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/avery-bradley.htm

[9] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[10] Charlotte Bobcats: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlotte-bobcats.htm

[11] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[12] > Report: Phil Pressey contract guaranteed for 2014-15" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/07/15/report-phil-pressey-contract-guaranteed-for-2014-15/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.