- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics coach Brad Stevens accepts Ice Bucket Challenge

Posted By Ben Rohrbach On August 12, 2014 @ 12:02 pm In General | Comments Disabled

On Sunday, I issued the Ice Bucket Challenge to Celtics [1] coach Brad Stevens [2] in hopes of raising awareness about ALS and benefiting The Pete Frates #3 Fund [3]‘s mission of finding a treatment and cure for the disease. Within the allotted 24 hours, Stevens accepted the challenge in an email Monday with the subject line, “On its way tomorrow …” Sure enough, the Celtics [1] posted their coach’s response on the team’s YouTube account Tuesday.

In addition to issuing an Ice Bucket Challenge for all Celtics [1] fans to donate and participate, Stevens dedicated his ice-dumping efforts to friend Matt White as well as longtime Boston College [4] sports information director Dick Kelley, who succumbed to the disease [5] in 2011. Stevens first met White ‘€” who still battles ALS [6] in Cape Haze, Fla. ‘€” prior to a December 2007 game against Florida Gulf Coast University. “Amazing the effort and time he put in to share his thoughts with our teams,” Stevens shared in an email. The former Butler track athlete’s moving speech to the Bulldogs prior to their Final Four win over Michigan State [7] in 2010 is must-watch video.

The ALS Association [8], Pete Frates #3 Fund [9] and Matt White Cure ALS Foundation [10] are all currently accepting donations, and the Celtics are asking fans to send videos [11] using #CelticsIBC [12] on Twitter. Well done, coach.

As for Celtics [1] players, NBA All-Star point guard Rajon Rondo [13] already accepted an Ice Bucket Challenge [14].

UPDATE: Newest Celtics [1] player Evan Turner [15] also accepted an Ice Bucket Challenge Tuesday.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/08/12/celtics-coach-brad-stevens-accepts-ice-bucket-challenge/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Brad Stevens: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/coach-brad-stevens.htm

[3] The Pete Frates #3 Fund: http://petefrates.com

[4] Boston College: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/boston-college-eagles.htm

[5] succumbed to the disease: http://www.si.com/college-basketball/2014/02/17/boston-college-dick-kelley-als

[6] still battles ALS: https://www.facebook.com/MattWhiteCureALS/timeline

[7] Michigan State: http://media.weei.com/ncaa/michigan-state-spartans.htm

[8] ALS Association: https://secure2.convio.net/alsa/site/Donation2;jsessionid=11D139ABD3C35BEF0EC671668FBC6262.app275b?df_id=27420&27420.donation=form1

[9] Pete Frates #3 Fund: http://petefrates.com/contribute.html

[10] Matt White Cure ALS Foundation: http://cureals.wordpress.com/donate/

[11] the Celtics are asking fans to send videos: https://twitter.com/celtics/status/499190780268146688

[12] #CelticsIBC: https://twitter.com/search?q=%23celticsibc&src=typd

[13] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[14] accepted an Ice Bucket Challenge: http://instagram.com/p/raEc45tq9B

[15] Evan Turner: http://media.weei.com/basketball/evan-turner.htm

[16] > Celtics coach Brad Stevens accepts Ice Bucket Challenge" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2014/08/12/celtics-coach-brad-stevens-accepts-ice-bucket-challenge/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.